The new Armagh, Banbridge, and Craigavon Council’s political makeup 2023

After another local government election, Armagh, Banbridge, and Craigavon has changed.

Sinn Féin is the largest party with 15 seats, up five from 2019. Armagh, Banbridge, Craigavon, Lurgan, and Portadown DEAs gained a seat.

Despite gaining two seats, the DUP is currently the second-largest party in the borough. Armagh and Lurgan received them.

The Ulster Unionists lost four candidates, including Sam Nicholson in Armagh. Jill Macauley and Louise McKinstry were the two councillors that lost. Ewan McNeill, Jim Speers’ successor, also lost the election.

The SDLP lost five councillors. After party losses, Thomas O’Hanlon in Armagh is the only councillor. Ciaran Toman, Declan McAlinden, Eamon McNeill, and Grainne O’Neill lost.

Robbie Alexander won Craigavon for the Alliance Party. No drama there—all three other candidates had excellent first preference counts.

Keith Ratcliffe’s 2,000-plus first choice vote earned the TUV a seat in Cusher, which Independent Unionist Paul Berry won on the first count.

All councillors returned in Lagan River.

Unionists have 21 councillors (including Independent Paul Berry) and nationalists 16. Alliance, typically moderate, has four councillors.

Leave a Reply